Engineers Canada logo

Multinational agreements

Washington Accord: The Washington Accord is an academic level mutual recognition agreement between organizations responsible for accrediting engineering degree programs in 20 countries. It recognizes the substantial equivalency of programs and recommends that graduates of programs accredited by any of the signatories be recognized by the other signatories as having met the academic requirements for entry to the practice of engineering.

The countries in the Washington Accord are Australia, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Peru, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Turkey, United Kingdom, and the United States.

To learn more about the accord, the following resources may be useful:

International trade agreements: Most existing trade agreements speak to general areas of economic cooperation, including the trade of goods and services. The Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), recently negotiated between Canada and the European Union, speaks directly to engineering services and the mobility of engineers as professionals. CETA provides a framework for the mutual recognition of professional qualifications (including engineers). This agreement, therefore, provides a basis upon which country-specific Mutual Recognition Agreements (MRAs) may be negotiated.

For more information

For more information contact Maria Arrieta, Manager, Foreign Credential Recognition at