

Minutes of the 188th Annual Meeting of Members (AMM)

May 25, 2024 9:30am-11:00am CT

Hybrid delivery

In-person: Hotel Fort Garry, Winnipeg, MB | Virtual: Zoom

III percent recert ere ear	Ty, Willingeg, Fib Virtuat. 20011			
The following Members were in attendance				
APEGA – M. Plante, Proxy holder	Engineers PEI – M. LeBlanc, President			
APEGNB – H. Young, President	Engineers Yukon – S. Sternbergh, President			
APEGS – E. Moss Tressel, President	NAPEG – P. Guy, President			
Engineers & Geoscientists BC – M. Mahovlich, President	OIQ – K. Baig, Proxy holder			
Engineers Geoscientists MB – M. Gregoire, Proxy holder	PEGNL – M. Fewer, Proxy holder			
Engineers Nova Scotia – A. Donaldson, President	PEO – G. Wowchuk, President			
The following Members sent regrets				
The following 2023-2024 Directors were in attendance				
N. Hill, President (Chair), PEO M. Winch, President-Elect, Engineers & Geoscientists	A. English, Engineers & Geoscientists BC T. Kirkby, PEO			
BC	S. Larivière-Mantha, OIQ			
K. Baig, Past President, OIQ	M. Mekomba, OIQ			
A. Arenja, PEO	D. Nedohin-Macek, Engineers Geoscientists MB			
N. Avila, APEGA	M. Rose, APEGNB			
E. Barber, APEGS	M. Sterling, PEO			
C. Bellini, PEO	N. Turgeon, OIQ			
G. Connolly, Engineers PEI	J. Van der Put, APEGA			
C. Cumming, Engineers Nova Scotia				
The following Director-nominees were in attendance				
E. Coles, Engineers PEI	J. Martel, OIQ			
L. Doig, APEGA	A. Mullick, APEGA			
A. Lockwood, APEGS				
The following observers were in attendance				
D. Abrahams, VP, PEO	S. Laurin - Vice President, Affinity Market Group, TD Insurance			
F. Collins, Chair, CEQB	P. Mann, CEO Engineers Nova Scotia			
P. Cyrus, Chair, CEAB	K. McCloskey, President, CFES			
L. Daborn, CEO, APEGNB	V. McCormick, CEO, NAPEG			
J. Gamble, President/CEO, Association of Consulting	J. Nagendran, CEO, APEGA			
Engineering Companies	S. Perruzza, CEO, OSPE			
M. Gregoire, CEO, EGMB	P. Rizcallah, incoming CEO, Engineers Canada			
S. Holmes, Executive Director, APEGS	M. Stiles, AVP, TD Insurance			
B. Hunt, Director of Professional Standards, PEGNL	A. Waldie, CEO, Geoscientists Canada			
K. King, Executive Director, Engineers Yukon	H. Yang, CEO & Registrar, Engineers & Geoscientists BC			
J. Landrigan, CEO, Engineers PEI				
The following staff were in attendance				
J. Bard Miller, Manager, Governance and Board Services	G. McDonald, CEO			
	I			

	I. Boucher, Manager, Member Services	D. Menard, CFO
	J. Chou, Governance Coordinator	M. Ouellette, Manager, Strategic and Operational Planning
	N. Durham, Manager, Public Affairs	J. Sendrowicz, Planning, Event, and Change Practitioner
	L. Go, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary	J. Southwood, VP, Corporate Affairs & Strategic Partnerships
T. Hubley, VP, Regulatory Affairs M. Warken, Manager, CEAB		M. Warken, Manager, CEAB

1. Call to order and introductions

N. Hill called the Annual Meeting of Members (AMM) to order at 9:33 am (CT). Participants were welcomed and the land was acknowledged. Members, Board Directors, and staff-officers were introduced.

2. Approval of agenda

The agenda was pre-circulated.

Members' motion 2024-05-1D

Moved and seconded

THAT the agenda be approved and the chair be authorized to modify the order of discussion. Carried

3. Approval of minutes

The minutes were pre-circulated.

A clarification was requested regarding the motion to adjust the per capita fee that failed during the previous meeting. According to the bylaw, the failed motion would uphold the last determined amount, which remains at \$8.

Members' motion 2024-05-2D

Moved and seconded

THAT the minutes of the annual meeting of members held May 27, 2023 be approved.

Carried

Professional Engineers Ontario abstained

4. 2023 Reports

G. McDonald introduced the annual reports, which had been pre-circulated with the agenda book, along with a video Engineers Canada's highlights from 2023.

4.1. Engineers Canada Annual Report

No discussion was had.

4.2. Annual Strategic Performance Report

No discussion was had.

4.3 Audited financial statements

D. Nedohin-Macek, Chair of the Finance, Audit, and Risk (FAR) Committee presented the precirculated documents. There was no discussion.

5. Appointment of auditors

N. Hill introduced the appointment of auditors, which had been pre-circulated with the agenda book. There was no discussion.

Members' motion 2024-05-3D

Moved and seconded

THAT Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton be appointed as the public accountant to audit the accounts of Engineers Canada for the 2024 fiscal year.

Carried

6. 2025 Per Capita Assessment Fee

D. Nedohin-Macek presented the Per Capita Assessment Fee (PCAF) recommendation. There was no discussion.

Members' motion 2024-05-4D

Moved and seconded

THAT the 2026 Per Capita Assessment Fee be set at \$10 per Registrant.

Carried

7. 2025-2029 Strategic Plan

G. McDonald presented the pre-circulated 2025-2029 Strategic Plan. In his remarks he highlighted the process followed to develop the plan, and the five strategic priorities.

- Engineers PEI sought further information about the potential continuation of the national marketing campaign. It was noted that Engineers Canada and the engineering regulators would need to agree to a financial arrangement to fund the campaign beyond 2024. Through a follow-question from APEGA, it was confirmed that consultations with the Regulators about funding the marketing campaign would not be limited to the CEO Group.
- Engineers Nova Scotia inquired about funding the marketing campaign from the unrestricted net assets. It was noted that the unrestricted net assets have been earmarked to fund the 2025-2029 Strategic Plan.
- Professional Engineers Ontario asked about plans to help engineers be elected to public office. It
 was clarified that the intent is to help engineers prepare to take on leadership roles on boards and
 public bodies.
- Engineers Geoscientists Manitoba expressed appreciation for the engagement undertaken to develop the proposed strategic plan.

Members' motion 2024-05-5D

Moved and seconded

THAT Engineers Canada's 2025-2029 Strategic Plan be approved.

Carried

8. Election of Directors

N. Hill presented the slate of candidates, as circulated in the agenda. No questions were received.

Members' motion 2024-05-6D

Moved and seconded

THAT the following Directors be approved for the terms indicated below:

Director name	Jurisdiction	Term
Christopher Dixon	Yukon	2024-2027
Ann English (incumbent)	British Columbia	2024-2027
Lisa Doig	Alberta	2024-2027
Anjum Mullick (vacancy replacement)	Alberta	2024-2026
Andrew (Drew) Lockwood	Saskatchewan	2024-2027
Jitendra Paliwal	Manitoba	2024-2027
Marisa Sterling	Ontario	2024-2027
Arjan Arenja	Ontario	2024-2027
M. Jean-Luc Martel	Quebec	2024-2027
Elliott Coles	PEI	2024-2027
Darlene Spracklin-Reid (incumbent)	Newfoundland	2024-2027

Carried

9. Next Annual Meeting of Members

It was noted that the next AMM is scheduled for May 23, 2025, in Vancouver, BC.

Post-script: The date for the next AMM will be May 24, 2025, as opposed to May 23 as indicated at the meeting. The Members will be notified accordingly.

10. Closing

With no further matters to come before the meeting, it was concluded at 10:07am CT.