### MINUTES OF THE 215th ENGINEERS CANADA BOARD MEETING

June 20, 2022 | 9:30am - 10:00am ET

Hybrid meeting: Fairmont Tremblant, Mont-Tremblant, QC | Zoom

The following Directors were in attendance	
K. Baig, President (Chair), OIQ	A. English, Engineers & Geoscientists BC
N. Hill, President-Elect, PEO	S. Jha, NAPEG
D. Chui, Past President, PEO	T. Joseph, APEGA
A. Anderson, Engineers Yukon	D. Nedohin-Macek, Engineers Geoscientists MB
N. Avila, APEGA	Marlo Rose, APEGNB
E. Barber, APEGS	D. Spracklin-Reid, PEGNL
A. Baril, OIQ	M. Sterling, PEO
C. Bellini, PEO	N. Turgeon, OIQ
V. Benz, APEGA	J. Van der Put, APEGA
G. Connolly, Engineers PEI	M. Wrinch, Engineers & Geoscientists BC
C. Cumming, Engineers Nova Scotia	
The following Directors sent regrets	
A. Arenja, PEO	M. Belletête, OIQ
The following CEO Group Advisor was in attendance	
L. Daborn, Chair, CEO Group	
The following Direct Reports to the Board were in attendance	
M.A. Hodges, Vice-Chair, CEQB	G. McDonald, CEO
P. Klink, Vice-Chair, CEAB	E. Spence, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
The following staff were in attendance	
A. Murphy-Dow, Governance Coordinator	H. Theelen, Director, Strategic Planning & Organizational Excellence
S. Price, Executive Vice President, Regulatory Affairs	E. West, Manager, Governance and Board Services
J. Southwood, VP, Corporate Affairs & Strategic Partnerships	

### 1. Opening

# 1.1 Call to order and approval of agenda

President K. Baig called the meeting to order at 9:33am ET. Participants were welcomed and the land was acknowledged.

#### Motion 2022-06-1D

## Moved and seconded

THAT the agenda be approved and the President be authorized to modify the order of discussion. Carried

## 1.2 Declaration of conflict of interest

No conflicts were declared. Participants were reminded to declare a conflict at any time during the meeting, as necessary.

## 2. Board business/required decisions

# 2.1 Director appointments to committees, task forces, and roles

M. Wrinch, Chair of the HR Committee, presented the appointment recommendations. The HR Committee considered individuals' preferences, knowledge continuity, and terms of reference requirements when considering the appointments. Directors either received their first or second choice of appointments. The HR Committee aimed to have a good mix of diversity in the various groups.

#### Motion 2022-06-2D

## Moved and seconded

THAT the Board, on recommendation of the HR Committee, appoint the following individuals to committees, task forces, and roles for terms as outlined:

- a) Director appointee CEAB
  - Ernie Barber (2022-2024)
- b) Director appointee CEQB
  - Marisa Sterling (2022-2024)
- c) 30 by 30 Champion (2022-2023)
  - Tim Joseph
- d) Finance, Audit, and Risk (FAR) Committee (2022-2023)
  - Arjan Arenja
    Dawn Nedohin-Macek
  - Maxime Belletête
    Steve Vieweg
  - Victor Benz
- e) Governance Committee (2022-2023)
  - Alison Anderson
    Danny Chui
  - Anne Baril
    Ann English
- f) Strategic Planning Task Force (2022-2025)
  - Kathy Baig
    Marlo Rose
  - Danny Chui
    Darlene Spracklin-Reid
  - Nancy Hill
    John Van der Put
- g) Collaboration Task Force (2022-2025)
  - Natasha Avila
    Christian Bellini
    Nicolas Turgeon
  - Crysta Cumming

#### **Carried**

### 3. Next meetings

The next Board meetings are scheduled as follows:

- September 29, 2022 (Ottawa, ON)
  April 5, 2023 (virtual)
- December 12, 2022 (virtual)
  May 26, 2023 (Halifax, NS)
- February 23, 2023 (Ottawa, ON) June 19, 26, 2023 (TBD)

# 4. Closing

With no further business to address, the meeting terminated at 9:45am (ET).

Minutes prepared by A. Murphy-Dow for:

Kathy Baig, MBA, FIC, ing., DHC, President Evelyn Spence, LL.B., CIC.C, General Counsel and

**Corporate Secretary**