Engineers Canada logo

Engineers Canada Awards

What are the Engineers Canada Awards?

Our annual awards honour outstanding Canadian engineers, teams of engineers, engineering projects or achievements, and engineering students.

Awards are presented in nine categories:

  1. Gold Medal Award
    For exceptional individual achievement and distinction in a field of engineering.
  2. Young Engineer Achievement Award
    For outstanding contribution in a field of engineering by an engineer 36 years of age or younger as of May 31, 2020.
  3. Meritorious Service Award for Professional Service
    For outstanding contribution to a professional, consulting or technical engineering association or society in Canada.
  4. Meritorious Service Award for Community Service
    For exemplary voluntary contribution to a community organization or humanitarian endeavor.
  5. Medal for Distinction in Engineering Education
    For exemplary contribution to engineering teaching at a higher education institution in Canada.
  6. National Award for an Engineering Project or Achievement
    For outstanding engineering projects or achievements by an engineering team in which Canadian engineers were involved.
  7. Award for the Support of Women in the Engineering Profession
    For outstanding support of women in the engineering profession and engineering excellence.
  8. Gold Medal Student Award
    For outstanding leadership, contributions to society and volunteerism by an undergraduate engineering student.
  9. The Award of Journalism Excellence in Engineering
    This award celebrates the journalists who incorporate, through words or images, a balanced perspective on how engineering impacts important issues ranging from health and infrastructure to technology and economic prosperity .

How do I identify a past winner?

You can search here:

Engineers Canada reserves the right to cancel, withdraw or amend any award, scholarship and/or fellowship without prior notice.

Why apply for an Engineers Canada Award?

These awards provide national recognition from your peers for your achievements. You can nominate yourself or one of your peers can nominate you.

When are nominations accepted?

Nominations for the awards are open from October 2019 to January 10, 2020.

Can I apply for an award or must I be nominated?

You or an organization can put your name forward for any of the awards.

Do I need to be a Canadian citizen or a permanent citizen of Canada to apply?


Do I need to be a professional engineer to be considered?

In all of the categories except for the Gold Medal Student Award and the Award of Journalism Excellence in Engineering, you must be a professional engineer licensed with one of Canada’s engineering regulatory bodies.

For the Gold Medal Student Award, you must be enrolled in good standing in an accredited engineering program. You must also be registered as a student member of the engineering regulator where that category exists.

Check with your provincial or territorial engineering regulatory body to discover if your association has a student member category.

What are the selection criteria?

Award recipients are selected by the Engineers Canada Awards Committee based on the terms of reference and selection criteria.