Engineers Canada logo

New federal cabinet sworn in


The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau unveiled his new, gender-balanced cabinet in Ottawa, ON, on November 20, 2019. The 34-member cabinet includes Marc Garneau, an honorary lifetime member of Engineers Nova Scotia, who remains as Canada’s Minister of Transport.

Engineers Canada advocates on behalf of the engineering regulators and the engineering profession to the federal government, and has a long-standing history of working and collaborating with the federal government on key policy priorities to support the regulators and the profession. In particular, Engineers Canada looks forward to working with the following ministers and their colleagues in the House of Commons on issues that impact the engineering profession:

  • Marc Garneau, Minister of Transport
  • Catherine McKenna, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities
  • Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  • Seamus O’Regan, Minister of Natural Resources
  • Francois-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Bardish Chagger, Minister of Diversity and Inclusion and Youth
  • Marc Miller, Minister of Indigenous Services
  • Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry
  • Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion
  • Filomena Tassi, Minister of Labour
  • Maryam Monsef, Minister of Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development
  • William Francis Morneau, Minister of Finance
  • Jean-Yves Duclos, President of the Treasury Board

A full list of federal cabinet ministers can be found on the Government of Canada’s website.