The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau unveiled his new, gender-balanced cabinet in Ottawa, ON, on October 26, 2021. The 38-member cabinet includes Omar Alghabra, a professional engineer, who remains in cabinet as Minister of Transport.

As the national organization that represents the 12 provincial and territorial engineering regulators that license the more than 300,000 members of the engineering profession in Canada, and as the only national voice of the engineering profession, Engineers Canada has a long-standing history of working and collaborating with the federal government to help inform and develop legislation, regulations, and policies.

Engineers Canada looks forward to working with the following ministers and their colleagues in the House of Commons and within the federal departments on issues that impact the engineering profession:

  • Chrystia Freeland – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance
  • Dominic LeBlanc – Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities
  • Omar Alghabra – Minister of Transport
  • Steven Guilbeault – Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  • Jonathan Wilkinson – Minister of Natural Resources
  • Francois-Philippe Champagne – Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry
  • Melanie Joly – Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Carla Qualtrough – Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion
  • Marc Miller – Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations
  • Patty Hajdu – Minister of Indigenous Services and Minister responsible for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Northern Ontario
  • Seamus O’Regan Jr. -Minister of Labour
  • Mary Ng – Minister of International Trade, Export Promotion, Small Business and Economic Development
  • Mona Fortier – President of the Treasury Board
  • Filomena Tassi – Minister of Public Services and Procurement
  • Anita Anand – Minister of National Defence
  • Marco Mendicino – Minister of Public Safety
  • Sean Fraser – Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
  • Gudie Hutchings – Minister of Rural Economic Development
  • Ahmed Hussen – Minister of Housing and Diversity and Inclusion
  • Marci Ien – Minister of Women and Gender Equality and Youth
  • Dan Vandal – Minister of Northern Affairs, Minister responsible for Prairies Economic Development Canada and Minster for the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency

The full list of federal cabinet ministers can be found on the Government of Canada’s website: